On 23 May 2017, at 19.30 European Union Prize for Literature winners will receive their awards during a public Awards Ceremony at Concert Noble in Brussels, in the presence of European Commissioner Mr. Tibor Navracsics, Members of the European Parliament and a high-level representative of the Maltese Presidency of the EU, as well as public figures from the fields of culture, literature and politics.

The twelve winners of the 2017 edition of the Prize who will be awared at the ceremony are Rudi Erebara (Albania), Ina Vultchanova (Bulgaria), Bianca Bellová (the Czech Republic), Kallia Papadaki (Greece), Halldóra K. Thoroddsen (Iceland), Osvalds Zebris (Latvia), Walid Nabhan (Malta), Aleksandar Bečanović (Montenegro), Jamal Ouariachi (the Netherlands), Darko Tuševljaković (Serbia), Sine Ergün (Turkey) and Sunjeev Sahota (the United Kingdom).

To learn more about the winning authors and their work, discover the EUPL 2017 winners anthology

The EUPL is organised by a Consortium comprising the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP), with the support of the European Commission. It is accessible to all the countries participating in Creative Europe, the EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors for 2014-2020.

Every year, expert national juries are set up in one third of the participating countries and appointed to nominate the winning authors according to specific criteria and following a selection procedure. Once selected, each of the twelve winning authors not only receives a cash prize of € 5 000, but more importantly, benefits from increased international visibility and cross-border promotion, starting at the Awards Ceremony in Brussels and continuing at Europe’s major book fairs.