Every year, the European Union Prize for Literature celebrates and showcases emerging literary talents from different European countries thereby helping to promote Europe’s cultural and linguistic diversity.  The Prize, open to the 36 countries currently involved in the Creative Europe programme,  is truly European in its scope, and the selection process relies on the input of national juries.

As the consortium selected by the European Commission to coordinate the initiative, the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) are jointly responsible for the setting up of the national juries and the practical organisation of the award ceremony.

all2017The 12 winning authors of the EUPL 2017 are Rudi Erebara (Albania), Ina Vultchanova (Bulgaria), Bianca Bellová (the Czech Republic), Kallia Papadaki (Greece), Halldóra K. Thoroddsen (Iceland), Osvalds Zebris (Latvia), Walid Nabhan (Malta), Aleksandar Bečanović (Montenegro), Jamal Ouariachi (the Netherlands), Darko Tuševljaković (Serbia), Sine Ergün (Turkey) and Sunjeev Sahota (the United Kingdom).

Authors biographies and excerpts from their works are collected in the  EUPL anthology 2017, which is available for download HERE